How Is DUI Defined In The State Of California?
A DUI is defined as operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
What Is The Legal Limit For Alcohol In Someone’s System? Is There A Level Of Impairment Due To Drugs That Is Legal Under California Law?
They are trying to prevent individuals under the influence of alcohol or drugs from driving after a specific level of intoxication. The legal limit in California is 0.08 for a regular driver and could also mean that it’s either a 0.08 or your inability to drive a vehicle. Regarding marijuana, it is difficult to determine how much was in the system or was illegal because marijuana stays in your system for more than 30 days. The state tried to pass a law saying that marijuana was legal and couldn’t do it because you don’t know precisely how long the individual had been under the influence.
What Are Roadside Breath Tests And Standardized Field Sobriety Tests? Are They Required In LA County?
Suppose you get stopped, and the officer thinks that you are possibly under the influence. In that case, they will ask you to take a PAS test, a Preliminary Alcohol Screening test. They do so with a small instrument that looks like a gun. You have to blow into it for the police or the government to determine how much alcohol you have in your system. Once the breathalyzer test is concluded, there are usually between four and five other field sobriety tests administered.
Another, more formal, test called the EC-OR or IR requires more advanced equipment and usually requires a trip to the police station. It also requires blowing into a device to determine whether you have a BAC (blood alcohol content) of 0.08 or more. They will also try to make sure you were driving, but if you were not, you would not be subject to penalty unless there were other illicit substances present.
A drug is defined as any substance or a combination of substances other than alcohol that could affect your brain or muscles to impair, to an appreciable degree, his or her ability to drive a vehicle. Again, if you have a BAC over the limit on either of these tests, they will use that as an element to convict you of driving under the influence.
What Happens To My Driver’s License If I Have Been Charged With A DUI In Los Angeles?
If someone refuses, your driver’s license is automatically suspended for a year. Typically, though, they will find a way to measure your BAC. There are even instances of blood draws after a warrant has been issued, to which you will be physically forced to submit. However, if no tests are performed, your license will be suspended for one year automatically. You may receive a temporary license for 30 days as an indication of your infraction.
After those 30 days have expired, your license will typically be suspended for three to four for a first-time DUI. Later cases will result in longer suspensions. It indicates on that temporary piece of paper that you have so many days that you would be able to call the DMV to get a hearing. After reaching the DMV, they will direct you for the hearing process and conduct the hearing like most others. I will often tell my clients to set up that hearing, and once they do so, I will discuss the details with them. When they hire me, then I will sub into the hearing. Still, I find that these hearings with the Department of Motor Vehicles are very difficult to win or overturn. Still, if indeed you do, it will have an impact on the bargaining power with the main charge in California.
The administrative judges side with the police department often, and to me, it’s unfortunate because it’s kind of like a rubber stamp. I still think that the client should go through it to understand how they will proceed in a regular trial if they go to trial. In Los Angeles County the Department of Motor vehicles can and will send a letter to the driver indicating that they must comply with the IID or internal interlock device that you must blow into to start your ignition. Usually it will need to be installed for six months.
For more information on DUI Charges In The State Of California, an initial consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (909) 330-4403 today.
Call Now For A Case Evaluation